A Dedication To Mama Hen

Most times when I have written about blogging I have written how grateful I am that I stumbled upon this world where I discovered a new me. Initially, when I created the blog this day, last year, I had no idea what I had stepped into. And if you have been a regular reader here, you would know how I began my blogging journey actually with A to Z April Challenge 2013. However, I took a good 15 days just trying to figure out my disorientation. It’s then that I was introduced to FB group for the purpose by Corinne Rodrigues and after that there was no looking back.

I call her mama hen and there’s a reason. She was there at the exact moment when I needed some inspiration to go on. She reached out to me and lent me a helping hand when I was already contemplating quitting the challenge. The journey through the rest of the challenge, though, was full of encouraging words and positive camaraderie. And soon after I became a part of this awesome group dedicated to motivation and support for bloggers and writers- WriteTribe. I was not asked if I wanted to be a part of it, I was just included, voluntarily. And that gave me confidence that I belong. Along the way I was pecked, nudged and motivated by her when I needed and today I complete one year!!

So here I raise a glass to her- Corinne Rodrigues. The woman who inspires me in more ways than one, the one who unapologetically lives her life on her own terms and manages to keep a holistic view towards life, people and Everyday Gyan. Here I share some of the most inspirational lines by her.

a

b

c

d

e

f

She has been a guiding light all through. And the times when I was almost down and out she gave me the gift of her presence around me. The following lines by her completely ring true to me today, when I celebrate the first blogversary of Rainbow Hues.

Talking about gifts – they do come in various packages, don’t they? I’ve realized that the times I’m feeling low and unhappy with myself or with certain situations, are the times I’ve been given a gift. They are really times for me to review my choices – to make decisions that will change the way I feel and more importantly set me back on course towards being more authentic.”

~From Go Find Your Smile

Before I let you soak into Corinne’s wisdom, let me ask you a question on Rainbow Hues first blogversary:

  • If you have been a regular reader here, what makes you come back?

  • If you are a new reader to this blog, what brought you here? Would you like to visit again? If yes, then why?

********************

You can follow Corinne Rodrigues through her blogs Everyday Gyan, From7Eight and Write Tribe or connect with her through Facebook, Pinterest, Google+ or Twitter.

Kajal signature

20 thoughts on “A Dedication To Mama Hen

  1. Kajal, you couldn’t have picked a more wonderful person to write about. It was Corinne who ‘recruited’ me to Indiblogeshwaris; it was Corinne who ‘included’ me in Write Tribe. She has rooted for me when I’ve been down. She has offered unstinting support when I’ve asked for advice. The best thing about her is that when she says she will do something, I don’t doubt it even for a second. She says what she means and means what she says.

    Not many people can touch the lives of others so deeply. God bless her always.

    I read your blog regularly. I like your stories; I like the things you find inspiring; I mostly find resonance with your opinions. That is why I keep coming back.

    1. Whoa! Dagny…thanks so much for coming back again and again, and when someone as “experienced” with blogging says that they like my work, I am surely elated.

      Yes, for Corinne, I absolutely concur that she means what she says and she says what she means. She’s one of the most transparent people I have come across and I never have to pretend in front of her 🙂

      1. As they say Kajal, when you let your light shine, you give permission to other people to let their light shine too. This is so true of Corinne. 🙂

  2. Corinne is truly a gem of a person. Always there with a kind word, support, and even pushing you to go that extra mile. I believe my perspective about blogging changed after interacting with Corinne! God bless her always.
    And hearty congratulations to you on your first blogoversary! Wishing you many many more milestone achievements. What I like about your blog is your thoughts and stories, the way you weave them, the emotions you capture, the clarity with which you express!! That’s why I keep coming back to your blog 🙂 ♥

  3. Loved your tribute to Corinne! So appropriate.. Mama Hen. That warm, fuzzy feeling 🙂

    As for your blog: You write well and from the heart. It is as simple as that for me. There are bloggers and there are bloggers. You, my dear, are a pick from the lot 🙂 Happy Blogversary 🙂

  4. Bless you Kajal. Lovely tribute to one of my closest friends!
    And you, I’ve seen you bloom on this blog and write from the heart. That’s what keeps me coming back! Shine on! ♥

  5. Corinne is truly an inspiring lady full of love and warmth. The best thing that happened to me was Write Tribe and remembered how she encouraged me on FB and Twitter. She is so selfless and what she is doing to encourage writing cannot be quantified in terms of words:)

  6. Mama Hen…. Our Mallu Magnet…. She’s just soo good. A beautiful lady with even more beautiful heart. A very heartfelt tribute ❤

    And Happy one year …. may you have all the years in this world to write more beautifully each day and make this blog even bigger! 🙂

Thanks for walking into my blog. Please leave your comments in the form of footprints so that I know you visited.

