Ringing In The New Year

Zen-Stones-And-FlowerYear 2013 was my year of hope and I had listed down a few to-do’s for myself. These few things, I hoped, would lead me to Finding My Zen.  Even though I came quite close to achieving what I had set out for myself at the beginning of the year, along the way I found something, which turned out to be the greatest gift of all.

Before I lead you on to my to-do’s for the coming year, let me lead you on to a list of 11 things that every woman should write down before the year ends. Our dear Corinne shared this post from Oprah, which lead Vidya to list down her 11 things and that began a chain with Richa, Shilpa and Meena joining in. Since I had already planned my ‘yearend round-up post’, I thought this would more or less cater to the purpose.

So, before the year ends, here I list 11 things I must write down:

1. What Younger You Would Like About Present You

image-for-self-discovery-painAs a teenager I harbored a dream, which I had no way of finding out how to fulfill. I just knew I was meant to be- that! Today, I guess I am on my way that leads me there and I think a 14 year old me would be happy to see me walking that way. I may be quite far from my destination, but I am glad (even though by accident) I found what I intended to do then.

2. The Watched/Read It List

I watch all the movies that I want to watch, plus some more. I have been lousy at reading for the last …like 4 years now….but I think soon I will jump right back in. One thing I regret is not being able to see as many live plays. I always dreamt of watching ‘Tumhari Amrita’ but with Farooq Shaikh passing away lately that shall remain a dream forever.

3. The Mistake You Never Want to Make

My life has been an ode to mistakes. That’s how I have always learnt so I really am never scared of making any (anymore, I guess!). Still, I never want to be in a place, which is unfathomable for my daughter. Even if I make a mistake, I should be able to explain it to her without scarring her. {Yes, that’s my biggest fear!)

4. Your Ideal Outfit

I love dresses…..dresses! I do wear a few summer singlets sometimes but I want to really see myself in party gowns one day. I hope, soon I get a shape, which can carry that outfit. I also want myself to go to work with a formal skirt and jacket suit. That would be my ideal! For now, I am stuck to jeans and t-shirts (how boring!)

5. A Deep, Dark—Shhh—Secret

This one is tricky. Usually I give away secrets- mine as well as others’ (even though I am dependable, just get that, I am lousy at lying!) Anyway, if you must know- I am scared of being lonely. Oh! I love to stay alone…but that’s something else. Its loneliness I am most scared of! You know what I mean?

6. The Most Unexpected Compliment You Ever Got

When young girls around me would coo around little kids they would meet in the malls and trains, I used to roll my eyes. Even though I liked kids, I never used to hold them (I still can’t hold a child for long!) or play with them. But then I became a mom and only God knows how I managed the first few years of parenting. And then, along the way, I found the love of my life-my baby! She taught me what I never knew I could learn from ‘myself’. Even now (in my heart I know) I suck at a whole lot of things and when I scream at her and go back to my secluded corner. She knocks off the glass wall and announces ‘ Mama, I love you!’ That’s my biggest compliment. Now you may argue that its not ‘unexpected’…a kid is supposed to love their parent. But I still rest my case saying, ‘I don’t expect anyone to feel I am perfect…but she does! There….my compliment 🙂 ’.

7. That One Quote

golden-do-unto

I was almost 8 years old when, at school, we learnt a song, which had these lines. It was Sister Francis who made us understand the meaning of this phrase and it lives on with me….shall stay.

8. The Best Surprise You’ve Ever Had

Hands down, it has to be my daughter. Surprise? you may ask. Well, lets just say, I had her when I was unsure about how I would handle her. With no guidance whatsoever I somehow managed ( er, managing now, too). So yes…surprise. And of course, she’s the best thing that could’ve ever happened to me.

9. Your True Happiness

Being in love! Love makes my world go round and that’s where I find my true happiness.

10. Your Favorite Failure

Not getting through with the Company Secretaries course I had enrolled myself in. I would’ve sucked really bad at it. Glad I failed!

11. An Amendment to the Bucket List

Okay, so now I don’t want to get my hair colored blue. I want to get another tattoo. Lets see how this goes!

2014 is going to be my year of ‘rediscovery’. I have laid out a list of things I want to achieve for myself that I will share some time soon too. But for now, lets just say, this is a happier place.

Lets all cheer for a stupendous year and health, peace and joy for all!

happy-new-year-2014-wishes-t2

Happy New Year!!

Kajal signature

42 thoughts on “Ringing In The New Year

  1. That was a nice post highlighting the 11 things that every woman should pen down and a nice retrospective on 2013. Am more than sure that 2014 is going to be yet another lovely fulfilling healthy and prosperous year for you, your family and your loved ones. Here’s wishing you a Happy New Year in advance 😀

  2. Nice list, Kajal. Let the new year, your year of rediscovery, pan out as better than you expected.. 🙂
    PS: You really had an idea of colouring your hair blue? Just curious 😀

    1. Thanks Vaisakh. Yeah, this was one eventful year. Hopefully the way its leading me in the next one will fare good too 🙂

      Yes, there was a time I wanted to get a section of my hair colored blue! 😛

  3. That’s a beautiful recount dear! Compliment from your child, their selfless love is the truly the greatest thing! Hope you have a wonderful 2014, your rediscover and rejoice YOU, get another tattoo and realize all your dreams!

  4. I can see how much you love your daughter and how much she loves you back. I think her I love you mama is the best compliment. Wish you a wonderful 2014. My 11 things will have to wait until next year!

    1. Thanks so much Suzy, for dropping by and liking this list. My daughter is indeed the greatest gift of all!

      Try making your list this year itself. It would be fun to read 🙂 Take care ❤

  5. So happy to see this post, Kajal. I love that quote – it is one of my credos!
    And hey jeans and tshirts are not boring!

    I wish you a 2014 that will gift you everything you wish for. Love, Vidya

    1. Thanks for asking me to do this. I enjoyed myself.

      Ah! what I meant with jeans and t-shirts being boring is for me (specifically) I understand for many it is a great outfit. 🙂 Please don’t misunderstand!
      Thanks and wishing you the best this year! God bless!

  6. So wonderful to see your 11 things, Kajal. Agree with Vidya… I wear jeans and tees all the time and I so love wearing them! 😀
    Awwie… that’s the bestest compliment a mother can get from her child. Blue hair?? Tattoo… aah, when will I get one!! 🙂
    A very happy and enriching 2014 to you and your family, Kajal 🙂

    1. Thanks Shilpa! Like I said to Vidya…Tees and jeans are a great outfit, but for me if I have to wear it everyday I’d get bored (I know am not normal!)

      Yeah, daughter dear is quite and act!

      Yep! blue hair…at least one streak…but I will drop it for another tatoo this year…I will get it! 🙂

      Wishing you loads of happiness this year! God bless 🙂

  7. I love your post today. Reading your list was very enjoyable. Sounds like you’ve done a lot of introspection and growing in this past year. I think I’m going to have to write down my 11 answers too. Happy New Year to you Kajal…may it be fabulous!

  8. Kajal – Lovely post – especially the part about your daughter’s love for you and yours for her. But that’s no secret – you’ve made it know time and again. I know you will make the best decisions for her and consequently for yourself !
    I love the fact that you’ve started to live the dream you had when you were 14 and I’m venturing to guess whether it has anything to do with rainbows? 😉
    And, of course, I wish you all the best in 2014.

    1. Thanks so much Corinne. I so appreciate all your encouragement time and again.

      Yeah, the dream that I had when I was 14 is something I am seeing clearer now, but its a long way for me to completely fulfill it.

      Thanks for your wishes. Wishing the best this year as well 🙂

  9. Happy new year Kajal! It’s been interesting reading all the different posts on the 11 things… it’s great that you are living what you dreamt of doing when you were young. And I love the favourite failure…life works in mysterious ways, doesn’t it? If you hadn’t failed at that, you probably wouldn’t be enjoying your life now! 🙂

Thanks for walking into my blog. Please leave your comments in the form of footprints so that I know you visited.

