Eye Of A Storm – Chapter 12

Continued from Goodbye

 

‘Marry Me!’ The words were quick and firm. He waited for her to respond. There was a dead silence between the two of them.

 

‘I can’t’ she softly said those words…not lamenting but sad enough. ‘I’m engaged.’

 

Vikram shared his surprised look with Anuj who stood right behind the both of them- Vikram, because he did not see that coming and Anuj, because this was news to him.

 

The Altercation

 

‘I’m sorry’ Priya said softly. ‘Why?’ Anuj was quiet ever since they boarded the train. He was expecting for her to explain the situation.

 

It took quite some courage for Priya to come up with those two words. She had been contemplating all ths while as to how would she face his confrontation. Seeing Anuj quiet ever since they began their journey made her even more nervous. Finally, when she mustered up the courage to speak to him these were the only words she could think of.

 

‘I’m sorry that I put you in an uncomfortable situation, like that.’Priya finally said.

 

‘If I may ask, what was it all about?’ Anuj asked, honestly. Priya was quiet. ‘I could understand that he was someone who you had some consideration for, but what really happened?’

 

‘We lost touch with each other and that’s that. We can’t be together, that’s the situation now.’ Priya explained.

 

‘And that’s the reason you used me to let you off the hook?’ Anuj asked. Priya was offended that he was so blunt about it. She was hurt. But knowing Anuj, it was evident that he never sugar coated his words. He was forthright about everything and that’s how was behaving now. His honesty was definitely brusque and curt but that was what made him so successful and focused too. He was a person whose mind never wavered when it came to making decisions. Unlike Priya he was stable and strong. Perhaps that’s the reason Priya found resort in his company. But now it was getting difficult to weave words so that she could explain things as reverently as he liked.

 train_imagebank_sm

‘He was my past. I did not want to hang on to him or his memory. I needed to move on. I’m sorry I had to use a lie.’ Priya spoke so softly, so desolately that he could barely hear her.

‘I don’t want to be treated like a prop, Priya. And what you did today made me one. Do you even realize what you have done?’ Anuj seemed to be losing his cool now. Till the time he was quiet Priya thought that she would be able to comfort him. But now the situation seemed to be getting out of hand, now.

 

‘That’s not what I meant, Anuj. Please don’t get me wrong. What I said was entirely spontaneous. I just did not know who to deal with that situation. All I knew was that I had to face him and give him something that would let me stay away from me. To me that was the only thing that occurred.’ Priya tried to explain is as much simplicity.

 

However, Anuj was getting furious even more. ‘I guess, along with him even I have been pushed away. The way that you dealt with that situation was utterly childish. How could you be so inconsiderate? I bet you did not even think once about how I would feel. Makes me feel sad to know how much of a consideration I have for you.’

couple-fight 

‘Please don’t say that, Anuj. I really hold you in high regard.  You happened to me at a time when I needed someone so badly in my life. I had lost all faith in love and companionship when you held me up. I can never forget how you saved me from losing my mind completely.’ Priya’s emotions were at a complete high by now. She so wanted to prove to Anuj that it was indeed a mistake but she had to do it.

 

‘I am sure you have your reasons for doing what you did. But that does not excuse you from the fact that I am deeply disappointed and hurt.’ Anuj was despondent by now and wished for solitude. He got up from his seat and walked away. ‘By the way, just to clear it to you…we’re not engaged.’

Kajal signature

The Impeccable Life in collaboration with The 😄 Experience, are hosting a 13-day writing challenge since October 13,  titled ‘Kill Your Darlings’. As a part of this challenge I am attempting my first 13 part fictional story

Previous chapters:

Chapter 1: The Best Summer Ever

Chapter 2: A Delightful Surprise

Chapter 3: Good News…And Bad

Chapter 4: Moving On

Chapter 5: Inner Turmoil

Chapter 6: Unexpected Turn Of Events

Chapter 7: An Honest Confession

Chapter 8: Sleepless Night

Chapter 9 : The Rendezvous

Chapter 10: The Vindication

Chapter 11: Goodbye

KYD

Disclaimer: This is a work of fiction and resemblance to any person, living or deal, is purely coincidental.

Image courtesy : Google.

9 thoughts on “Eye Of A Storm – Chapter 12

Thanks for walking into my blog. Please leave your comments in the form of footprints so that I know you visited.

