Eye Of A Storm – Chapter 5

Continued from Moving On
 
‘Priya, I hope you’ll do great justice with this profile. We really have great hopes with you on this project. It might take you a little more than a year to get the project rolling. I hope you are prepared to take up the challenge.’ Anuj was forthright in declaring his expectations.

‘Of course, I am looking forward to this’ Priya stated confidently. In her mind, she knew this was her chance to leave the past behind.
 
Inner Turmoil
 
‘How have you been?’ Hina was rather austere on the phone, partly because it had been a while since she had communicated with Priya and partly because she was unsure what state of mind Priya was in at this time, after six months.
 
‘I am absolutely fine. Are you okay? I mean it’s been a while since you called. Has it been 4 months, now?’ Priya had been rather busy with her new project for the last couple of months which was establishment of a Corporate Plaza in the NCR. Seldom did she get time for her social life or for thinking about her life back home. In the last few months, every time Hina had called her, Priya would get transported back to the days when she believed that life had something beautiful in store for her- the days when she believed in love. 

She had not imagined the kind of void that Vikram had created after he left. Even though Hina had called her a couple of times to check how she was doing, she was quite certain Priya was not in a frame of mind to accept the sudden disappearance of Vikram from her life. She had seen how Priya had spent days in desperation trying to figure out his whereabouts, called his phone multiple times, spent hours alone and away…. without as much as shedding a single tear. 
 
It is not the ‘how’ of things that troubles us but the ‘why’ which usually disturbs the serenity of our mind.  Unanswered questions are the ones that keep stabbing us at the wounds that never really heal. And the answers that the mind makes up to settle our fears are like sand castles that are bound to dissolve with every high tide.
 
‘Well, I am good. I heard how the work is shaping up in your new office at New Delhi.’ Hina began her conversation with a neutral topic to ease the usual tension she could sense that would always build up every time she had spoken to Priya, the last few times.
 
‘Yes! Very unexpectedly so. I never imagined that the project would take off at such a racy pace.’  Priya was definitely proud of the kind of work she was doing in the new office and who better that Hina to have shared her excitement with.
 
‘You seem to have settled pretty well in Delhi, now.’ That was more like a question that a statement from Hina.
 
‘Yes, I love it here. My work keeps me occupied most of the time and I hardly socialize. But I am glad that this project has given me a new meaning to shape up my career. I am always a little worried about mom, since she’s alone there. I am glad you keep calling her often, she tells me.’ In her heart Priya knew she could not have got a better friend than Hina and she was grateful.
 
‘Yes, I called her a few days ago, she stays worried about you too.’ The statement seemed to be like a cover for major news that was in store. ‘I am getting married, Priya. And I would be going to Singapore with my husband after the wedding.’ 
 
Priya went silent for a while before she realized that this was Hina’s moment and she needed to separate herself from it. ‘Wow! that’s great! So finally Samir proposed, did he? That’s so nice.’
 
‘Yes, I am glad that happened!’ Hina was glad Priya took the news so easily.
 
‘When are you leaving?’ 
 
‘Next month…. the wedding’s in two weeks, would love for you to attend.’
 
‘As much as I would love to, Hina, I would be back only after this project takes off and that would take another year or so.  However, I wish you a very successful and happy married life.’ Suddenly, Priya felt that the resolve she had made when she came here was trying her at this moment. But this was not the time for her to give in. Her inner struggle with herself was stopping her to have any entry gates opened to her heart. She felt completely bound by her own resolve.
 
‘Don’t you think you are trying yourself way too much?’ Hina could feel her pain and that was unbearable. She always knew Priya was much stronger than her and that she would never give in that quick.
 
“It’s one of those things that people say, you can’t move on until you let go of the past. Letting go is the easy part, it’s the moving on that’s painful. So sometimes we fight it, try and keep things the same. Things can’t stay the same though. At some point, you just have to let go. Move on. Because no matter how painful it is, it’s the only way we grow.”  
 
‘I just hope you find your element back Priya. And I hope to see you soon, too.’ After a few pleasantries, Hina hung up.
 
Getting back to her work, Priya gave a huge sigh. She was scared that the physical distance between her and Hina would send her even further than she had already pushed her.
 
Priya was startled in the middle of her thought when Anuj suddenly came and stood behind her.
 
“Good evening!’ Anuj excitedly wished her.
 
‘When did you come?’ Priya was surprised that he would come and startle her like that.
 
‘I had to visit sooner than I had planned because I have a very good news for you.’ Anuj’s eyes shone like that of a little child’s.
 
‘And what is that?’ Priya joined in his excitement.
 
‘Will tell you soon. Meet me in the evening for coffee.’ Anuj left her guessing.
 
…to be continued 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Impeccable Life in collaboration with The 😄 Experience, are hosting a 13-day writing challenge since October 13,  titled ‘Kill Your Darlings’. As a part of this challenge I am attempting my first 13 part fictional story

Previous chapters:
 
Chapter 4: Moving On

 


Disclaimer: This is a work of fiction and resemblance to any person, living or deal, is purely coincidental.

 
Image courtesy : Google.
18 thoughts on “Eye Of A Storm – Chapter 5

  1. […] The Impeccable Life in collaboration with The 😄 Experience, are hosting a 13-day writing challenge since October 13,  titled ‘Kill Your Darlings’. As a part of this challenge I am attempting my first 13 part fictional story.  Previous chapters:   Chapter 1: The Best Summer Ever Chapter 2: A Delightful Surprise Chapter 3: Good News…And Bad Chapter 4: Moving On Chapter 5: Inner Turmoil […]

Thanks for walking into my blog. Please leave your comments in the form of footprints so that I know you visited.

