The Opposite Of Loneliness… Is Intimacy

Google Image
I fell in love about 15 years back. I fell in love with …LOVE and I knew it was/is for keeps. A special someone passed me this book called “The Bridge Across Forever: A Love Story” by Richard Bach and when I held it for the first time in my hand and looked at the cover, I never imagined that once I’d read it, I would never feel the same again and my life would change forever. I read the back cover and it said, if you’ve ever felt alone in a world of strangers, missing someone you’ve never met, you’ll find a message from your love in The Bridge Across Forever. That’s it! The book had already started its magic.
The book is the true love story of the author and takes the reader through his journey to find his soul mate. More than that, it dispels myths about friendship and love. Ultimately he does find his soul mate and along the way he tells the readers how and why we all keep searching for one till we finally find them.
The beginning brings forth his longing and distress for finding the love of his life which is depicted in these words: The opposite of loneliness, it’s not togetherness. It is intimacy. It further follows the journey of a man looking for his soul mate. A pilot also a writer, he traverses America with a theory that there is one person-his soul mate, waiting for him somewhere. After debating her existence he finally decides that ‘the one’ lies in the collective existence of many women. He finds that the culmination of his desire and imagination cannot be in the form of a single being. He decides that one woman may satisfy his desire for intellectual exchange while another may share his taste for adventure and so on.
Along the way, he finds himself lost in the financial world and practically loses millions of dollars he had earned from his previous book’s sales. A friend comes to rescue who, very intelligently, saves him the money and rescues him from the damp. Leslie is smart, intelligent, understanding and Richard finds her a great partner for chess. In spite of her Hollywood status as an actress, she displays great humility and they both make a great team together. Ya, its not the usual, they win each other over and its all a happy story. Richard is confused with the platonic nature of their relationship and actually considers her more as a ‘sister’ than anybody else. She is scared to ruin the friendship and so they part ways. Only to come back after years to make room for each other in their lives and see if it can work between them.
Google Image

The journey does not end on his pursuit to find his soul mate but to analyze the ‘reason’ of love.  He realizes- We’re the bridge across forever, arching above the sea, adventuring for our pleasure, living mysteries for the fun of it, choosing disasters triumphs challenges impossible odds, testing ourselves over and again, learning love and love and LOVE!

Richard and Leslie move across America and stay at places, some of them, godforsaken as well and in those adverse conditions they dissect their relationship even further. That causes ripples (many) in their life but gradually they find themselves tackling the every day bickering. Here is an extract from the book to help you clarify how he conceptualizes the existence of inter dependency:
We think sometimes, there’s not a dragon left. Not one brave knight, not a single prince gliding through secret forests, enchanting deer and butterflies with her smile.
What a pleasure to be wrong. Princess, knights, enchantments and dragons, mystery and adventure…. not only are they here-and-now, they’re all that ever lived on earth.
This is a story about a knight, who was dying, and the princess who saved his life. It’s a story about beauty and beasts and spells and fortresses, about death-powers that seem and life-powers that are. It’s a tale of the adventure that mattered most. I think, in any age.

In this book Richard explores out of body experiences, moves into the future, chats with his future self and a little more. With him I found myself meandering through the ravines of his mind. This book became my bible for all of my adult life and it still guides me through love and life. This book dispels the biggest myth about love and one lesson that stays engraved in my mind forever is – One is not lonely when they are alone… but when they are disengaged.


This post is a part of the Ultimate Blog Challenge, July 2013
20 thoughts on “The Opposite Of Loneliness… Is Intimacy

  1. Kajal I read this book when I really wasnt in love and felt low about life in general. It was a great inspiration.Reading a review after so long was a plesant surprise…and you have written it very well 🙂

  2. So glad Sugandha that you liked the book review, which I did not want to be presented as a book review. Anyway, ya, the book is inspiring and it inspires me even now. I go back and forth to this book for so many answers in my life. Thanks for visiting!

  3. I can't wait to pick up this book and read it. If the two excerpts are anything like the rest, then I'm already hooked. I love the writing style already. Thanks for a radiant review of it.

  4. I'm coming across Richard Bach and this particular book for the second time this week. I guess it is some sort of sign! Thanks for the great review Kajal.. adding it to my to-read list 🙂

  5. I have heard much about this book from loads of my friends. You have sold this one to me very well. I don't like run of the mill love stories but this one does seem to be quite different. Also you have to sometimes always find that one book which touches you a lot. For me its Love in time of cholera, if there is a love story book I can safely carry with me all the time and never get bored of rereads its this 🙂 Richa

  6. Bhavya, this writer happens to be my favorite author and I own all the copies of his books…another one which you might like is 'The Messiah's Handbook'…That book is my secret code to life…I have all my life answers in there…I swear!

Thanks for walking into my blog. Please leave your comments in the form of footprints so that I know you visited.

