Letting go… for a better tomorrow.

I don’t remember another day in my life when going to school evoked such excitement. My first day!

My parents had a camera that developed pictures in black and white. Ma decided that this special moment deserved a colored picture and so the neighbors were asked to share their new Polaroid camera for the purpose. It was the first time I had seen a Polaroid camera at all and it really amazed me how after the print would come out it would be nothing but a white sheet of paper and then the image would appear, as if magically.

I remember my brother and I standing close, posing consciously for the picture. We were not really great posers like the kids of today’s generation. This picture reminds me so clearly how my brother was the quiet, shy kinds while I was the perfect tomboy. The proof is this picture!

Picture clicked in 1980 at Dalhousie (H.P.)

Post this picture, we went to the school after the ritual that would stay with us for every new venture- sweet curd. Ma was sure this would bring luck and positivity to every new step of our lives. I still believe in this and this ritual lives on with me today. 

My class was at one end of the cemented ground right opposite the entrance of the school. The gate would lead us to 30 steps that landed us at the swings. Through the swings one could see the water tank and the merry-go-round. On the right was my classroom. 

Yes, this picture reminds me of my first ever day in school. But most of all, this picture reminds me of my brother’s little finger, which led me to a new life and left me at a magical place of growth, knowledge and learning… for a better tomorrow!












This post is my entry for the ‘One Picture From My Photo Album’ contest conducted by My Yatra Diary and CupoNation.”

Disclaimer: Pictures used in this post belong to the author and may not be used in any form.



My nominations for the contest are:



Cynthia Rodrigues : http://cynthology.blogspot.in
38 thoughts on “Letting go… for a better tomorrow.

  1. I love the author's expression in this pic, too cheeky 😀 Classic siblings pose. Touching post. My elder sister too was protective of me while in school.

  2. I really liked the heading "Leting go .. for a better tomorrow " .To me this evoked some emotions and took me back to my childhood which i have let go physically but still hold it tight to my heart.

  3. Aww 🙂 Brothers are the bestest things that can every happen to you 😀 And, you do look like the bully standing next to your ayyo paavam brother 🙂

  4. aww! So cute! :)you brought back memories of me dropping my sis off at her nursery class and she crying!! heh! She cried everyday all thru Kindergarten! 😀

Thanks for walking into my blog. Please leave your comments in the form of footprints so that I know you visited.

