Reflections: Blogging from A to Z Challenge-2013


For the last two-three days, I have been contemplating to write how the challenge went for me. And I just could not make myself to sit and write down all that I felt about this challenge. The shot of adrenaline that flowed to my brains last month during the challenge refuses to come down, you see.

The challenge came to me as the suggestion by a non-blogger friend who noticed this elsewhere. He insisted that since I had decided to start blogging why shouldn’t I start with this. Hence.

What a day that was! April 1, 2013. Just like that, I picked up my lappy and raided the keyboard instantly to come up with what I felt at that instant. My first post for this challenge was born this way. Without a second thought.

For the first few days I struggled to get comments on the posts, requesting my FB friends to notice and then hopping over to blogs from all over the world. I came across some really interesting ones that I started following. For about two weeks I struggled to churn out ideas that would connect with the readers. I got a lot of encouragement from my friends but I yearned for more. I had seen people receiving more than 20-25 comments on their posts everyday. More than that, I wanted to the written word to be read.

Along the way I changed the appearance of my blog for about 5 times in order to get the right look. Somehow nothing clicked and I was disappointed at the nervousness with which I was handling the blog.

Then one day, an angel dropped by a note saying ‘Join me in this journey’. Blindly, I leaped. And am so glad I did. This was the best that could have happened to me during this challenge. Corinne Rodrigues introduced me to a whole lot of other ladies and gents from the blogging community, who had been blogging for a while, all participants in this challenge. These people joined heads to ideate, share, encourage and chat. Amidst great camaraderie, I was welcomed with open arms and within a few days I forgot that I was new to the group. 

Comments, appreciation, suggestions and encouragement rained on my blog like the first drops of water on the parched earth. I was overwhelmed with the response. Some of my posts were loved, others liked and still others managed to survive. I was humbled with the graciousness with which they accepted my writing. I knew then that I would survive this.

One thing that I learnt (though I always believed) – The more the merrier! 

Corinee‘s stories from Jose’ and Pablo, Cynthia‘s life lessons, Vinita‘s humor, Shilpa‘s simplicity, Janaki‘s effervescence, Afshan‘s verve, Naina‘s buoyancy was all very infectious. VidyaMeena, Pheno, Dhiren, Shail, Meera, Monika, Privy, Bhavya, PallaviSridevi, Ruchira, Priya, Roshni, Laxmi, G Angela and all the rest in the group were so generous with their comments and help whenever I required it. I learnt something or the other from each one of them. Tracy Moore was always supportive too who would catch up with my posts every single day and mention her thoughts about my posts. Very considerate.

A heartfelt thanks to Corinne Rodrigues for being the guiding light throughout (I would’ve surely quit midway if not for her) and to Arlee Bird for coming up with this bright idea of bringing people together through this medium. A super-super thanks to the whole team of A to Z who were so patient with the silly questions I rained on them in the initial stages of the challenge. Also to the members of AtoZers who still continue to encourage me and visit my blog. My FB friends are my heart favorite for being so supportive and they know how much their involvement in my work helps and motivates me.

I will hold this experience very dear all my blogging days, for sure.


Google Image

April 2013 was my first month blogging and I started with THIS challenge (Promise, I won’t harp about this anymore :D). I am thrilled (which is actually an understatement) that I survived it and not just that. If you could see me, I am doing a butt dance on my chair, cuz’ I DID IT!!


P.S.: I may have missed a few names to thank in this post. But that can be attributed to the shot of adrenaline (remember!). You know you are special for me and I thank you from the bottom of my heart. You know who you are, don’t you? 🙂

34 thoughts on “Reflections: Blogging from A to Z Challenge-2013

  1. Thank you so much for being a part of this year's Challenge. I love your story about the community. Within the big picture of the giant list there are so many smaller images and subgroups that are formed. And that's partly what the Challenge is about–networking to build community. I'm glad you found yours.But you've got me curious with the early statement about "the suggestion by a non-blogger friend who noticed this elsewhere". Where did your friend notice this? I'd like to know that story.Thank you for sharing your story.Lee An A to Z Co-Host Tossing It Out

  2. I'm like the happiest when 'THE' Arlee Bird comments on my post. Thanks for doing that. About the story I mentioned-My non blogger friend was surfing some bogs when he chanced upon this challenge on April 1 itself and suggested me to enroll for this. And I did!! 🙂

  3. Starting a blog with this challenge, I believe is the bestest thing you did, Kajal. Enjoyed reading you here and glad that our paths crossed. keep blogging.Cheers 🙂

  4. Glad to know and we both are on SAME PAGE that is our page on FB via the same angel !!Do not think much about comments. Today they come. Next day they go. I have had very bad experience in this area but thing is *I try to visit as many blogs as possible- atleast those who visit me * and at times I also might drift away hence I decided it should not decide my blogging or writing skills but A to Z ws a full blooom now my blog might wither but am glad I knew u all 🙂

  5. Thanks for the comments Afshan!Glad we met through this challenge. Of course, I understand that I may not get many comments at one point. That's not even my agenda. As explained in this post. I'd like more people to read my stuff and I should be able to make a connect with them. That's the purpose of this blog. It would be no use to me if there are no readers…so!

  6. WOW, you really had a super positive experience with the challenge. I too saw folks getting tons of comments, sometimes that me a bit green with envy. Congrats on completing the challenge.

  7. Oh my goodness! What a story! Welcome to Blog Land and so glad you joined the challenge! What a way to start blogging! That's like graduating from college right after you finish kindergarten or something! Congratulations!

  8. Wow, tat's such a unique way of looking at it. Glad you found my post interesting. Thanks for your wishes and please keep visiting. This would encourage me much!

  9. Happy Blogging Kajal – congrats on both finishing and on starting your blogging with this challenge. It was great fun. Thanks for visiting and commenting on my posts.

  10. This is such a cute reflection post! I'm glad you had a great A to Z and learned so much/made so many new friends! 🙂 The A to Z is just a perfect e.g. of what awesome things the blogging community gets up to. 🙂

Thanks for walking into my blog. Please leave your comments in the form of footprints so that I know you visited.

