Unique, just like everyone.


There’s this TV commercial for ‘Gems’ where in an art gallery/museum a visitor notices an artwork with a blue gem among various yellow ones and pulls it out thinking ‘it doesn’t fit in’. Once he does that the whole art collapses into mush.
How many times do we think something is unnecessary and try to pull it out? What is it with us that we see something, which is different and decide it does not fit in? Sure there are various hoes in life/world which need weeding but that’s just another story. Here I am talking about things, which are rare and unique and they form a part of the ‘whole’. Why do we think we need to mangle them?
Even as kids we are taught to fit in, to be a part of the world. Etiquette and social graces aside, we train kids to even meander their thoughts around social acceptability. I see impassioned teenagers emulating their idols without really reasoning their heroism and adults functioning like well-tutored robots sprinting in the rat race. Don’t feel offended; I am one of them too. Now that I have caught your dislike on this note, let me ask you a simple question. Why is it that we studied to do engineering, did MBA and eventually rounded it off with a degree in law? The answer is simple- we are taught to accept acceptability; to do what everyone else is doing.


We were sent in this world as distinctive beings – proof being the uniqueness in our physical appearance. There is something or the other, which is unparalleled about us. There are times when we discover that and cultivate it, at other times we snub it even if we have discovered. Of course many of us take our whole life to discover it and never find it. But that too makes us exclusive!

 My mother always inferred that children are like molding clay and shaping them is our responsibility. I’d like to take the cue and encourage the uniqueness in my child and nurture it. Unique is beautiful because it gives us a chance to celebrate what’s best in us. Ah well, whose approval do we ever really need?
I’m reminded of another TV commercial for children’s stationery where the message proudly displayed is ‘Because you’re one of a kind’. Children in the commercial are advised not to blindly imitate their heroes. They are not branded off as next Einstein or Obama or Kishore (Kumar) or Sachin (Tendulkar). They are encouraged to be themselves – which I feel is one of the most important lessons that we can pass on to our children. And not just them, let us make efforts to dust off our choices and make the best use of skills we have. All of us are Unique!
So for you, here’s a tip –
Be unique and celebrate it
Because you’re the only one, there is of YOU!
Appreciate what is unique in others because they are too
Now is the time to cherish the best
Exclusivity is the best fun
Be unique- just like everyone!
Here are some lines from a song that rings in my mind right now. Though the song is a romantic number where the boy describes why the girl is special for him, however, there are some lines, which I think are relevant to this post. Here goes:
You don’t run with the crowd
You go your own way
You don’t play after dark
You light up my day
Got your own kind of style
That sets you apart
Baby that’s why you’ve captured my heart
I know sometimes you feel
Like you don’t fit in
And this world doesn’t know
What you have within
When I look at you
I see something rare
A rose that can grow anywhere
And there’s no one I know that can compare
Image courtesy : Google 

36 thoughts on “Unique, just like everyone.

  1. what a bful way of saying it all. INCIDENTALLY I also wrote on the same topic 🙂 Hy five on that but mine is slightly on a diff note but msg is sameGOOD MRNG and have a unique dayjst loved the song

  2. We are so accustomed to disguise ourselves to others that in the end we become disguised to ourselves..There is just one life for each of us, THAT IS OUR OWN…. define yourself and just be yourself…Thanks for reminding this lovely song. BackStreet boys Rocks..(y)

  3. When you said, "unique like everyone else", I immediately thought of the "everyone's special" spiel that I sometimes hear over here that I really dislike! :)I totally agree about not molding our kids to do our bidding but to let them explore what to do in life!

  4. We are taught to accept acceptability. True and that's the hard part. But if we try to be ourselves, then we are unique.Great post! 🙂

  5. I think it is in our difference that we can truly connect to the sameness in all of us. In our uniqueness stands what we hold precious and this pure preciousness is always relateable. I hope that makes sense. By celebrating our differences we can truly appreciate and in appreciation we can connect to deeper realms. It's beautiful!

  6. A very beautiful post..we are so molded by our age old beliefs and blind customs that even if we question them, they go unanswered. Learning from my experiences, I am trying to let my kids be.

  7. Fantastic message. Your daughter is truly blessed to have you as her Mom – but I know you feel equally blessed. Let's pray that more parents and educationists realize the value of letting children just be their own unique and beautiful selves!

  8. Thanks for the compliments Corinne :)I wish we all can let children be children and let them explore their lives themselves. of course, we as parent must be able to guide them, but they should be able to break their cocoons themselves. Thanks

Thanks for walking into my blog. Please leave your comments in the form of footprints so that I know you visited.

