Adventure

Thanks to Arlee Bird and a friend to remind me that I have a page here that needs some honor. So here I am. Taking the A to Z Challenge in April 2013 (minus Sundays). Everyday bringing one story from the alphabet of the day.

The alphabet today is “A”.


When I first started this blog-space it was nothing but an aspiration accrued from my desire to write and present. What, How, When, were some of the associations, I had not thought of. And then…this!


From Google Images

As soon as I heard of this challenge all I could think of, was, “Adventure”. My adventure, right here….from here on!!

To begin I quote Robert Louis Stevenson, “For my part, I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.”


I have always believed that our greatest adventure is to keep moving. On our travels we often find what we were not seeking in the first place. Sometimes what we get is not too pleasant but sometimes rewards can be magical. What is pleasant is always treasured and what is not, always stays with us as a lesson.


Just like on any adventure, we are all seeking out for excitement, thrill and that huge rush of adrenalin. Whether its a new job, new house, new baby or a new car, we’re all excited by the adventure. Based on our minimal or extensive study (whatever and however we chose) we leap forward with open arms to accept what is in store. We move with caution and precise calculation to achieve what we’ve dreamed of, not knowing that the travel will bring along its own nature of turns and tumults, not yet known to us. The question is “How ready are we?”


A few days ago I encountered the TV commercial for a popular beverage where a bunch of boys go out swimming in the sea and are leering at and making fun of Hritik Roshan who is feeling scared of jumping into the sea with them. Overcoming his anxiety, he musters himself up to jump of a cliff, declaring “Darr se mat daro, kyunki darr ke aage jeet hai”. 


Therefore, any adventure really needs us to be brave, face your fears and leap! 


And the real passion evoking word here is not really adventure, but fear. Once overcome, you cross over….That’s the real adventure!!

23 thoughts on “Adventure

    1. Thanks Cynthia. Yeah it was fun indeed and I would’ve dropped midway had it not been for the group to have rescued me 🙂

      Hope to have you around for the challenge thhis time over as well 🙂

    1. So no improvement 😦

      Anyway yeah I started with a challenge cuz that’s the kick I needed before which the blog was sitting idle for 15 days… it was great fun 🙂

      Thanks for coming by Rachna 🙂

      1. Arre baba! I meant you are as good even now. Most of us sucked (sorry for that word) when we began blogging. At least I did ;-)! So you see the compliment there.

  1. Blogging and writing are no less than adventure and has all the ingredients of an adventure say thrill, surprise , the rush of adrenalin etc.Your first post here is very matured and interesting.

Thanks for walking into my blog. Please leave your comments in the form of footprints so that I know you visited.

